Shhh…my real passion lies in the arts and humanities

If you’ve read my about page, you know that I’m a Bachelor of Arts, Creative writing graduate. While I am on the road talking to prospective students about arts programs I am often questioned (usually by parents) about the usefulness of a BA. I struggle a little to find an answer, but I usually say something like, “Studies show that any university degree will give you valuable skills.” I will add (in case my boss ever reads this) that I do elaborate on the types of skills one can acquire in arts programs, but I think universities could do a better job of marketing arts programs. They could also do a better job of preparing students to get the most out of their arts degrees. Have a read of this to explore this idea further. 

Education fairs are great places to ask questions
One thought on “Shhh…my real passion lies in the arts and humanities

Leave a Reply

