Interesting Mistakes: A Mirror of Questions

What was the last interesting mistake you made? And I don’t mean the last time you spilled red paint on your white carpet. When was the last time you put yourself in a position that was really scary?

I want to place this interesting-mistake making in an educational context and say that the simple act of just committing to a learning situation can be an interesting mistake. And the funny thing is, it’s not actually a mistake…it’s just a choice that may turn out well or may not. What I wonder about is what inspires people to make those kinds of “mistakes.” What is it that makes people want to put themselves in vulnerable, often painful situations? Is it that the current situation is unbearably comfortable?

My interesting mistakes usually stem from a desire to make things easier. There’s a line in a song called My Silver Lining by First Aid Kit that applies to me exactly. It goes, “These shackles I’ve made in an attempt to be free.” However, it’s not just that I want to be free…sometimes I feel too free and want some different rules and a new game. Most of the time, these interesting mistakes have certainly made life interesting, though not in the ways that I’d hoped.

I’d love it if you’d share a short story about a time you made an interesting mistake. What would you change? Would you do it again?

Leave a Reply

