Okay…But…

So, I want to continue the cognitive dissonance discussion. When was the last time you walked down the street and spied someone in the throes of cognitive dissonance? Maybe they were doing a chicken dance to the sound of traffic or their mouth was twitching uncontrollably. Is that how you would know they were struggling with two opposing ideas in their head at exactly the same time?

“I don’t know.” You say. “I can’t see inside their thoughts, so I don’t know what they’re wrestling with.” You say.

Exactly. I think the only way we can determine whether someone is suffering from a bad case of cognitive dissonance is to communicate with them. Using our eyes and mouths and voices. Remember those? I suppose you can discuss issues via forums or text. Call me old-fashioned, but technically mediated discussion is not the same as a face-to-face debate. What about the fun stuff like body language and different tones of voice? Don’t those matter anymore?

My apologies. I digress. I suppose all I was trying to get at is that we can discover and work through cognitive dissonance when we talk about big ideas and issues with someone IRL. Tea-time chats about politics can usually tease out a little dissonance. Try it…let me know how you do with that old-fashioned “real time” chatter. I’ll be curious to know how you make out.

Leave a Reply

